Keep your iron the prize

In less than 2 days, anxious triathletes will find out if they were “lucky” enough to win one of the 200 spots in the lottery to compete alongside some of the best athletes in the world.

The upcoming Ford Ironman World Championship, which takes place annually in Kailua-Kona, HI, is set for October 9, 2010.  A total of 1,800 elite (and slightly insane) athletes will come together to test their strength, endurance, and will.  They will begin with a 2.4-mile swim, continue with a 112-mile bike, and finish with a whopping 26.2-mile marathon run through intense heat and challenging terrain.

As posted on the official site, the swim cutoff is 2 hrs. and 20 min., the bike cutoff time is 10 hrs. and 30 min. from the beginning of the race and the run cutoff is 17 hours from the beginning of the race.

Sound like fun?  I am sure it will be for the spectators and volunteers.  The thought of even running 1 mile, let alone dragging my body through 17 hours of hell, makes me go weak at the knees (not that I could even finish in 17).   As for the athletes, I cannot even begin to (and I’m not sure I want to) imagine how painful it will be.  But the pain is relative to the extreme joy that they will experience when they reach the finish line.

Although I can only ever dream of completing such an enormous feat, it is athletes like Chrissie Wellington and Craig Alexander that give me the inspiration to complete my own life version of the Ironman.

Leave a Reply

