Catastrophic Review: Death at a Funeral

Death at a Funeral (2007), directed by Frank Oz, is one of my all time favourite films.  In short, the film wonderfully captures the often conflicting emotions surrounding death while reconciling them in a way that is oddly comforting and funny at the same time.

I’m generally quite open to different types of comedy, especially if they feature Chris Rock.  To my surprise, the Americanised version of Death at a Funeral (2010), directed by Neil LaBute, leaves something to be desired.

The new version lacks subtlety and I almost felt like I was being repeatedly beaten over the head with a slapstick during the entire film.  Sadly, I’d have to say that all the funniest bits were given away in the trailer.

So if you haven’t seen the original Funeral, I highly recommend that you do and wait for the American version to come out on Netflix or LoveFilm.

Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

