Catastrophic Review: Where the Wild Things Are

I actually saw this when it first came out last year, but since I’m currently revisiting classic children’s books turned into film I thought I’d add Spike Jonze’s Where the Wild Things Are (2009) to my list of reviews.

If you love children’s literature, chances are you’ll have read the original book by Maurice Sendak.  As a child, I remember thinking the book was different to the usual string of happy-ending stories that my parents read to me.  However, it wasn’t until I saw the film and reread the book as an adult that the feeling of sadness sank in.

In fact, I spent a good 40% of the film crying my eyes out.  It was almost as if events in the story conjured up every memory of sadness in my life that I had forgotten about; it all came pouring out of nowhere.

I suddenly felt as though I had never experienced happiness in my life and that life, no matter how hard we try to make seem good, would always end with sadness.  That said, I adored the puppets and the soundtrack is phenomenal.  This is definitely worth watching again at some point.

Rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

