Catastrophic Review: Mind The Gap

The London Underground, the oldest subway system in the world, is a far cry from what you’ll find in Japan’s major cities, but the tube and my favourite No. 73 bus have never failed to get me where I need to be.  Many people complain about how untimely the trains are but perhaps I’ve been lucky and haven’t ever had any major issues with them.  However, I can also appreciate the sentiment behind Adam Kay and Suman Biswas’ London Underground song.

It does amuse me when I hear about delays due to snowfall (but really, it’s only a light flurry) or a leaf blowing onto the tracks.  Such natural occurrences will often delay trains for hours.  Of course it would be nice if the trains were cleaner but that’s also up to the citizens to help upkeep.  It’s rather annoying to see people put their feet up on unoccupied seats or leave their rubbish behind.

Convenience is a key factor for me, so I am more willing to ignore the lack of cleanliness on the tube or the countless rats that I’ve seen scurrying about the tracks (mind you, this is something you will almost never see in Japan).  Although there are some problems with the system, the tube is by far the most efficient way to get around.

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

