Catastrophic Review: From Paris, with Love

It just so happened that France beat out Brazil in the 2006 FIFA World Cup semi-finals while on my first journey on the Paris Metro.  I can’t say that it was pleasant; in fact, it was incredibly daunting.

I understand that all of the World Cup crazed fans painted in white and blue, chanting and singing “Allez Les Bleu!” were not exactly going to kill me but it did feel like they were going to topple the car I was squished in.  That said, it was probably one of the most exciting ways to experience the Paris Metro.

The Metro is not as complex as it seems, once you get used to it.  Built at the start of the 20th Century, all the Metro entrances that I’ve come across are decorated in Art Noveau style and this gives Paris (and the Metro) one of its many charms.

The trains themselves are not particularly clean, often covered in graffiti, and I must admit there were times where I felt we might derail.  The tracks also seemed to run very close to each other.  However, like the London Underground, it is the most cost effective and efficient way to travel around the city.

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

