Catastrophic Review: The Big Apple

One of the best summers I had was a summer in New York City.  I was off from Uni and had absolutely nothing to do except enjoy good food, relax, and explore the concrete jungle.  I’ve never been a fan of the big city, but something about that summer made me change my mind.

I still doubt I’d ever want to work or live there, but the city has a convenient and expansive transit system that is similar to the Paris Metro, only slightly more complex.  The transit system spans across all the boroughs (Bronx, Brooklyn, Manhattan, Queens, and Staten Island) and there always seem to be trains departing and arriving within 5 or 6 minutes of each other.

There are also multiple ways to get to the same place, so even if there is a delay you’re still likely to make it to your destination on time.  I can understand the floors being a bit dirty at the end of the day but I still can’t understand why some people leave their newspapers and rubbish on the train, especially nowadays with all the budget cuts.  Oy, New Yorkers, do your part to help keep your trains clean!  The subway stops could do with better air ventilation but I suppose if it wasn’t hot and muggy down there, it wouldn’t feel like the big city.

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

