Catastrophic Review: Inception

If you were looking forward to having your mind blown and experience something so deeply mesmerising that you would have dreams about having dreams within another layer of dreams, then get ready to be sorely disappointed.   To be fair, the concept of the film is really fascinating, but it’s actually more interesting when read about.

I still can’t quite put my finger on it, but I was bored to the point of irritation, thanks in part to the awful booming melody of doom that reappeared every time something drastic was about to happen.  But how could anything go wrong with a brilliant cast, including Leonardo DiCaprio, Ellen Page, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Ken Watanabe, and Tom Hardy?

I was rather shocked by the dry performance that everyone gave.  All, except for the wondrous Tom Hardy, whom I thought was the only one who brought life to an otherwise dead film.

To my surprise, I was attacked by a sudden burst of laughter during the anti-gravity fight scene in the hotel.  Gordon-Levitt’s movements became so animated that I couldn’t help laughing at his awkwardly thrown punches.

Sadly, I spent the majority of the film fidgeting in my seat and almost yelling out, “just drop the f-ing van and engage the “kick” so we can all go home!”  Apparently I wasn’t the only one that wanted to go home.  I counted about 6 or 7 people that left the cinema before the film ended.

Rating: 2/5

Leave a Reply

