Around The World From A-Z

Inspired by a blog I recently stumbled upon, I decided to make my own A-Z list of countries I’d like to visit if I didn’t have to worry about time or money.  I suppose it can act as a supplement to my bucket list which lists places I’d like to visit with my family and which I feel we’ll more likely be able to actually visit one day.  There I go trying to be practical… In any case, I hope you’ll follow suit with your own A-Z list and join in on the fun!

A is for…

A is for Australia.  Plenty of tastiness from the land and sea! First on the list and soon to see in December!

B is for…

B is for Bahamas.  Who could pass up relaxing in the sun?

C is for…

C is for Chile.  Beautiful coastline and abundant fresh seafood!

D is for…

D is for Denmark.  One of my mates from Uni is from Copenhagen so I’d love to visit her.  I’d especially like to see the colourful canal district and sample all the local delights.

E is for…

E is for Egypt.  I’ve seen so many photographs of the magnificent pyramids containing secrets of the ancient world.  I hope I’ll get to see them in the flesh one day.

F is for…

F is for Finland.  Otherwise known to me as the home of Moomin World!

G is for…

G is for Greece.  So much wonderful food and culture, not to mention all the beautiful beaches!

H is for…

H is for Hungary.  I never quite mastered Johannes Brahms’ Hungarian Dance No. 5 but I’m sure I can master eating all the tasty food that originates from Hungary.

I is for…

I is for Iceland.  Would quite like to spend a day or two at the Blue Lagoon geothermal spa.

J is for

J is for Japan. I rarely get a chance to see friends and extended family from Japan so would say yes to any opportunity to visit the place I once called home.  And of course, the food!

K is for…

K is for Kenya.  Safari time! And fun times with more Uni mates!

L is for…

L is for Luxembourg.  This is really awful but to be honest, I forgot that Luxembourg existed! Shame on me, I know…

M is for…

M is for Maldives.  Such beautiful waters!  Would love to dine at the Ithaa Undersea Restaurant!

N is for…

N is for Norway (New Zealand and Nepal).  I know I’m only supposed to choose one but all three countries have long captured my attention with their own respective beauty.  I’ll be able to cross New Zealand off of my bucket list soon so Norway is next! I’d like to go on a Norwegian cruise.

O is for…

O is for Oman.  Well that wasn’t hard, since we’re a bit lacking on the “O” countries.  I’ve been curious about Oman ever since I got it mixed up with another country (which shall remain unnamed).

P is for…

P is for Peru.  Not that interested in passing out on top of Machu Picchu but can admire from afar and yum up all the local food.

Q is for…

Q is for Qatar.  Again, not a difficult choice due to it being the only country that begins with the letter “Q”.  But to be honest,  if faced with the actual opportunity to go, I’m  not sure I’d be that keen on going…

R is for…

R is for Russia.  Would love to see the ballet there.

S is for…

S is for South Africa (but also for Switzerland).  It would be a difficult choice if I could only choose one country, as it would come down to who I missed more!  My lovely flatmate in Switzerland or Uni/Japan mates? I do know more people in South Africa…but I think I’ll try to go to both places!

T is for…

T is for Thailand.  Love, love, love Thai food and would love to visit a mate there (from my Kyoto days)!

U is for…

U is for Uruguay.  I hear it’s the Switzerland of South America!

V is for…

V is for Vietnam.   Did you know that you can go sea kayaking in Vietnam? Would also love to see the French colonial buildings in Hanoi’s French Quarter.

W is for…

W is for Wallis and Futuna.  I must admit I had to re-educate myself on this one.  The Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands is a Polynesian  French island territory in the South Pacific between Fiji and Samoa.  Like the legendary Atlantis island, Wallis and Futuna Islands are very close to sinking into the ocean so hence, we should see them before they’re gone!

X is for…

X is for…well, we’re still waiting for a country to begin with the letter “X” so instead of a country, I’ll choose a Tibetan city named Xigaze!

Y is for…

Y is for Yemen.  Of course!

Z is for…

Z is for Zimbabwe.  Oh wait, maybe not.  Travel Alert.   How about Zambia?  Travel Alert.  Okay, I’m starting to see a pattern.  I’m left with Zaire and again, Travel Alert.  If it weren’t for all those rubbish alerts, perhaps I’d stick with Zimbabwe.

Leave a Reply

