Ilha Formosa, Taiwan

These days, China may still consider Taiwan a rebel province, but I say who cares what they think.  From the time Taiwan gained independence from Japan in 1945 they have never “belonged” to mainland China or any other country.

That said, Taiwan, formerly known as Formosa (“Beautiful Island” in Portuguese), has  more or less remained an unknown entity to people outside of Asia, though slowly gaining popularity among globetrotters.  Although there are few articles written about Taiwan I was happy to come across this one in The Independent, which provides a pretty spot on description of  modern Taiwan.

Part of Taiwan’s beauty is it’s abundance of amazingly tasty food, be it fresh tropical fruits, piping hot bowls of soup noodles from a street vendor, or that oh so tasty “stinky tofu” (yes, the smell is a bit off putting but it also somehow draws you in).  And if you know me, you know I live to eat and I’ll pretty much try anything so long as it tastes good!

So the plan is to eat our way around the island, or at least as much of it as we can within a fortnight.  To get an idea of what the food is like in Taiwan, have a peek at Travels with Sandy, a blog that has made me even hungrier for Taiwanese food!

It has been nearly 10 years since I’ve been back to Taiwan but I have nothing but fond memories of the many summers I spent there during my childhood.   If all goes according to plan, I’ll be visiting Taiwan with my hubby next year (yet another thing I can cross off my bucket list)!

Leave a Reply

