A Fatso’s Dilemma

Every morning I wake up and one of the first things I think about is what I’m going to eat for the day.  The possibilities are endless.  Just thinking about all the flavours that the culinary world has to offer fills me with so much joy and excitement.

I enjoy food so much–to the point where I think it’s safe to say that I live to eat.   That said, I started to gain one too many pounds during the latter half of my twenties and now I’m starting to worry that all this eating (healthy or not) is going to turn me into a proper fatso.  Where I was once blessed with an incredibly fast metabolism, things have now taken a dramatic turn for the worse.  I gain weight just by looking at food!

Perhaps I’m in denial, but I think my eating habits are a lot better than when I was at Uni.  Gone are the late night runs to the kebab shop or cravings for Zinger chicken, and I rarely get Chinese take away (though, I’ll admit I would easily say yes to some Singapore noodles right about now).

These days, I’ve incorporated a tasty homemade ‘green juice‘ (aka aojiru) to my daily diet (juice of kale, cucumber, green apples, ginger root, spinach, celery, and lemon).   I try to make healthy one pot meals instead of eating out, but when I do eat out I try to stay away from fried foods and too much starch.  Oh, but goodness I’ll tell you it’s been so hard cutting back on my favourite tonkotsu ramen, especially the garlic pork variety!

I’ve really been trying to be good about what and how much I eat.  I think the true dilemma, however, aside from the daily challenge of choosing the ‘right’ foods to eat, is changing the way I perceive food.  I view tasty  food as a treat or as something that I deserve instead of eating for the sake of fueling my body so that I can live a healthier and more active lifestyle.

2 thoughts on “A Fatso’s Dilemma

Leave a Reply

