Catastrophic Review: Another Year

Very few films ever make it to my favourites list and manage to stay there.  But with Another Year, Mike Leigh has created an extraordinary film about ordinary people that no doubt will warm my heart for years to come.

I’ve fallen in love with Tom (Jim Broadbent) and Gerri (Ruth Sheen).  They are a loving middle-aged couple content with their lives, fulfilled in their careers, and who both equally enjoy tending to their allotment.  They are the sort of couple that I  hope my hubby and I can be when we’re older.

Being a film centered on older people, this drama-comedy didn’t leave me feeling depressed like I thought it might.  However, it did remind me that we’re all afflicted with youth.  Yet not all of us are lucky enough to grow old, so we should appreciate life’s challenges and be kinder to our aging parents and each other.

*****

Rating: 5/5

2 thoughts on “Catastrophic Review: Another Year

  1. “But with Another Year, Mike Leigh has created an ordinary film about ordinary people”

    Fixed your typo 😉

    Glad you enjoyed it though.

Leave a Reply

