Baking Experiments – The Best Ever Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

For a while, according to my not-so-good-with-words-hubby, I was the worst ever cook.  I put him off udon for years after serving up an admittedly minging udon dish. It’s rather difficult to botch udon, but I somehow managed to destroy it. Luckily, I’ve been able to redeem myself and udon in recent years but my baking experiments have been a bit hit or miss.

When it comes to baking, I’ve never been great at following recipes, often confusing tablespoons with teaspoons, salt with sugar, baking soda with baking powder. You know, stuff that matters especially when it comes to baking. To add to the challenge, I’ve also always gravitated toward  ‘healthy’ desserts, like pumpkin chocolate chip cookies (which seem to always come out undercooked) or lemon and blueberry cupcakes, which are more like cornbread muffins (but I reckon that’s due to use of corn meal). Let’s just say that you have to have very refined taste to appreciate the results of my baking experiments.

All joking aside, I think I’ve found my ‘go to’ recipe for a traditional, crowd-pleasing, chocolate chip cookie.  You’ll have to do your own temperature conversions but I promise you won’t be let down by this recipe.  Whether it’s the best ever recipe or not may be up for debate, but it definitely yields some tasty cookies–light crispy coating on the outside, chewy and moist on the inside. Definitely my kind of cookie!

The trick is definitely in the use of hand chopped fine chocolate, adding to the rustic homemade feel.  I’m not too keen on the savoury-sweet combo so I decided to forgo the flaked sea salt.  All in all, this is a fabulous and easy to follow recipe!

*****

*****

Leave a Reply

