Guilty Pleasures: The Hunger Games

“May the odds be ever in your favour.”

Suzanne Collins, The Hunger Games

All week long while my mate Nick had his attention focused on the trilogy of The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, I  shook my head and wondered why anyone our age would be interested in a book deemed for ages 12 and older.  Essentially, he was reading teen fiction and without trying to be pretentious, even I didn’t read teen fiction when I was a young adult.  Especially nothing in the adventure science fiction department.

But unbeknownst to me, I would soon be converted in a span of 24 hours and find myself deeply engrossed in the lives of Katniss Everdeen, Peeta Mellark, and the tributes of District 12.  I was practically at the edge of my seat from start to finish and was disappointed when I found I had finished the entire book.  I wanted to read more.  After riding a thrilling roller coaster of emotions, The Hunger Games had whet my appetite for more.

I had forgotten what it was like to use  my own imagination and found myself dreaming of Panem last night–all the vibrant colours, luxurious food, the ‘reality show’ arena.  I don’t think it would be proper to describe the book as ‘fun’ as the premise of the story is rather dark, but it definitely is an engaging book.  Without revealing too much, at one point I was literally on the brink of tears and yelling, “YOU CAN’T DO THAT! YOU CAN’T JUST CHANGE THE RULES LIKE THAT!”

I wouldn’t say the writing is spectacular, but the story is eerily fascinating and is well-written enough to keep the pages turning.  I definitely recommend giving this book a try.

Rating: 4.5/5

2 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasures: The Hunger Games

  1. Ooh, I do love this book so much- Catching Fire and Mocking Jay were OK, but Hunger Games knocked it out of the park. At our house, we’re counting down the days until the movie comes out- I hope it’s a good as the book!

    • Thank you for stopping by! And yes, this book was amazing. I’m on to Catching Fire now and intend to read the entire trilogy. Generally I find that films never do the book justice but I hope we’ll be in for a nice surprise! 🙂

Leave a Reply

