Catching Fire

 “Oh,” I say under my breath. “Tick, tock.” My eyes sweep around the full circle of the arena and I know she’s right. “Tick, tock. This is a clock.”

Suzanne Collins, Catching Fire 

No sooner had I finished blogging about The Hunger Games than I started reading Catching Fire, the second book in Suzanne Collin’s riveting trilogy.  I’ve always found that the first book of any series tends to be better than the ones that follow, but I think in this case Catching Fire can easily hold its own.

Just as I thought life could somehow go on happily ever after in PanemCollins sends us on another emotionally charged journey that takes many unexpected twists and turns.  I found myself holding my breath through most of the second half of the book and before I knew it, I was at the end with my eyes wide open in disbelief, nearly dropping my Kindle on the floor.

I was absolutely knackered from all the reading I’d done the past two days but even as I closed my eyes, my mind kept racing and I awoke the next morning feeling like I had actually been dragged through the Quarter Quell.  To think I’d gotten so in to this teen fiction malarkey made me laugh out loud.  But that’s surely the sign of a good story!

Review: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

