The Final Book: Mockingjay

“Fire is catching! And if we burn, you burn with us!”

                                                                       -Suzanne Collins, Mockingjay

I’m not quite sure where to begin with this. I was so excited to read the final book of the amazing Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins. I tried so hard to like it, but unfortunately I was left disappointed by Mockingjay.

Perhaps I felt emotionally drained by all the fighting that was going on in the story–death after gruesome death and I was sick of picturing the muttations. I was also thoroughly fed up with Katniss’ inability to grasp her own feelings for Peeta or Gale.  Not to mention, she’s a bit thick. She seemed forever clueless about how to help the rebels’ cause and many unnecessary deaths occurred as a result of her lack of good judgement.

Perhaps such strong emotions should be the sign of a good book, but the writing got progressively worse and I simply wasn’t impressed. That said, I still think everyone should give the entire trilogy a read, perhaps best in one fell swoop. Be sure you have all three books handy when you begin. I can at least guarantee after completing The Hunger Games you’ll be left craving for more.

Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

