The Perfect Dessert

Having lived in Taiwan and Japan, I’ve had heaps of almond tofu (杏仁豆腐). But it seems this delightful bowl of tastiness is hard to find in even the nicest Chinese or Japanese restaurants outside of Asia. The name can be a bit misleading as it is not made of tofu but is more a cross between jelly and pudding. I guess you could say the texture is that of a light panna cotta (with much less cream). So don’t go turning your nose up at the sight of the word tofu!

Almond tofu in my favourite round verrines served on new Moominmamma pie plate (from Moomin Celebration series).

I’ve been experimenting with various measurements of milk, cream and gelatine and I’ve finally got it down the way I like it!  Silky smooth, light and creamy, not too sweet and very almondy.  For the recipe you will need 4 x individual pudding basins, a small mixing bowl, measuring utensils and a fine meshed sieve. Preparation time is less than 15min. ‘Cooking time’ is approximately 2hrs.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 packet (14g) of unflavoured gelatine
  • 6 tbsp boiling water
  • 1.5 to 2 tbsp sugar
  • 350ml skimmed milk
  • 50ml double cream
  • 15ml/1 tbsp almond extract
  • seasonal fresh fruit /mixed tinned fruit

Preparation method

  1. Melt sugar in boiling water, stir until dissolved and quickly add gelatine to the mix.
  2. Add milk and cream and mix well.
  3. Add almond extract and mix well.
  4. Pour the mixture through a fine meshed sieve into your desired basins.
  5. Place in the fridge to chill for at least two hours, or until completely set.
  6. Add some fruit and we’re in dessert heaven!
7 thoughts on “The Perfect Dessert

  1. Pingback: Venturing into the Unknown: Almond Tofu | Wishful Thinking

  2. Hi! I stumbled upon your recipe today and I’m actually going to try it! By any chance did you use Knox unflavoured gelatin? That’s what I found at my grocery store >< each packet is about 1 tablespoon so I'm not sure if I should be using half of that measurement or the whole tablespoon (since 1tbsp is 14.3g)..

    • Hi, thanks for stopping by! Tbh, I haven’t made this in ages and I realised just now that I may need to update the recipe. I would suggest going with the gram measurement and yes, I used Knox. Do give it a go and let us know how you get on!

Leave a Reply

