World’s Most Expensive Afternoon Tea?

Priced at £550 per couple, the Cliveden ’Platinum Afternoon Tea Tasting Menu’ is touted as the world’s most expensive afternoon tea. It includes prized ingredients such as Da Hong Pao tea, Beluga Caviar (£4,000 per kilogram), white truffles (£2,500 per kilogram) and chocolate cake decorated with gold leaf, paired with Kopi Luwak, the world’s most expensive coffee. You know, the South East Asian delicacy, which costs £50 per cup and is made from beans of coffee berries which have been digested (basically shat out) by civets, washed, and then roasted. But if that’s not fancy enough for you, the tea is also accompanied by two glasses of Dom Pérignon Rosé Champagne. Click here for the full menu.

Lavish indeed, but somehow I’m not tempted.  It might be the world’s most expensive tea for two, but is it also the world’s tastiest?  I can’t stand the flavour or smell of coffee so I doubt the cuppa Kopi Luwak would be any better.  I would have probably been chuffed to go if you’d asked me a few years ago.  Yet somehow I think I’ve outgrown shamefully extravagant dining.  Over the years I have found the more expensive the meal, the less impressed (and more disappointed) I’ve been.  I’d much rather have their traditional afternoon tea (without the bubbly, please) and spend the rest of the money having tea at various other fine establishments.  But if you’ve been tempted, call 01628 668 561 or email dining.reservations@clivedenhouse.co.uk to book what I hope will be an unforgettable experience for you!

Leave a Reply

