Birthday Wishes And Life Lessons

The older I get the more importance I place on birthdays, at least in terms of celebrating them. You’d think it’d be the opposite, but as a child we didn’t really do birthdays. So I told myself that when I grew up I’d make it a point to at least acknowledge that I had made it safely through another year. Life, after all, is unexpected and therefore worth celebrating any chance you get!  Not to mention, it’s a great time to self-reflect and re-evaluate and establish goals for the year to come.

I suppose I ought to give a shout out to Tom Cruise, since it seems he might need a bit of birthday cheer, but this is about me!  And I wouldn’t want the crazy Scientologists raining on my parade like they did years ago as I stood crying outside KFC on Tottenham Court Road, waiting for G to come fetch me. Admittedly, I was upset about the Zinger (temporarily discontinued) but probably more so that I had lost my cool with the Scientologists who wouldn’t let me leave despite having told them that they were worse than the Mormons. It certainly makes for a great story now (perhaps I’ll elaborate another time), but I was seriously traumatised!

Ah, but I digress. Where was I? Birthdays and life lessons. Here are ’30-something’ things I’ve learned in life that have helped shape who I am today.

  1. Life is unexpected, always eat dessert first. You could say this is one of my life’s mottos.
  2. Don’t hold a grudge, they only hurt the holder.
  3. Learn to forgive yourself and let go.
  4. It is okay to ask for help.
  5. Failing means you’ve tried and trying is the first step toward success.
  6. Happiness is a choice.
  7. Life really is what you make of it.
  8. Learn from your mistakes.  This might sound simple, but you’d be amazed how many people make the same mistakes twice. Erm…including me…
  9. An example of a life lesson I had to learn twice: don’t bake with plastic catering boxes — they don’t belong in the oven.
  10. Just because everyone else is doing something doesn’t mean I’m supposed to as well.
  11. A moment on the lips, a lifetime on your damned hips.
  12. Every penny counts. As a penny saved is a penny earned.
  13. Be organised — it will make life a lot easier.
  14. Value your friendships.
  15. Love with all your heart.
  16. Embrace spontaneity as it will make life a lot more interesting.
  17. Sometimes mum does know best.
  18. Always get a good night’s sleep.
  19. Don’t go to bed angry.
  20. Always remain curious.
  21. Laugh every day.
  22. Crying does not mean you’re weak.
  23. Be patient with your aging parents.
  24. Thank you and please go a long way.
  25. Sometimes it’s okay to forgive those you love. Sometimes it’s also okay not to. Time will only heal some wounds…
  26. Work smart, play hard.
  27. Know your boundaries and demand that others respect them.
  28. Be kind to yourself and love yourself but don’t make excuses when you know you could do better.
  29. Don’t waste your time looking for people that aren’t looking for you.
  30. Never stop learning.
  31. Health is everything.
  32. Take responsibility for your actions.
  33. Always be polite, but sometimes when necessary it’s okay to tell someone to f**k off.

Though I doubt anyone with the same birthday will be reading this, happy birthday to all of my birthday buddies out there! And here’s wishing myself a fantabulous birthday and a wonderful trip to Iceland to kick off the new year!

6 thoughts on “Birthday Wishes And Life Lessons

Leave a Reply

