Why You Should Try A Juice Cleanse

Life is about enjoying, experiencing and best of all, eating.  But once in a while, I think it’s important to recharge and reboot and give our tummies a little rest, while allowing our minds to refocus. And so came my desire to do a juice cleanse. I brought the idea up with my trainer, who was very excited that I was keen on trying it.  But whoever suggested I do this for 10 days must’ve been insane! Oh wait, that was me…

Reality hit around lunchtime. And I kept thinking, I could murder a curry right now. Instead, this is what I got for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The good thing is I could drink as much of it (along with water, and any other fresh veggie juice) as I wanted.

Cucumber, spinach, celery, green apple, lemon and ginger juice–shot in toy camera mode to get this lovely bright green colour.

Everyone around me kept commenting on how awful my green juice looked (it’s not that green in real life) and how they couldn’t believe I was ‘starving’ myself. They came up with all these reasons for how bad it was for my body. Fresh vegetable juice bad for me? You’ve got to be joking! I started to fade a little during my normal meal times but overall, I stayed focused and energised throughout the day and am keen to try it again, perhaps make it a weekly thing.

I assure you, it’s really not as bad as it seems and the juice was actually quite lovely. Tasty, really.  Next time I will add kale.  And this is all coming from someone whose mantra is “I don’t eat to live, I live to eat”.  Not to mention, I feel great! I woke up this morning feeling refreshed instead of groggy. Just to be clear, I ate a normal dinner the previous night and my cleanse officially began when I woke up the next morning and ran through this morning (essentially 36 hours without solid food).

If you decide to give this a shot, here are a few first-timer tips:

  1. Make all of your fresh green juice and veggie juice blends the night before.
  2. Use vegetables that contain a lot of water, like cucumber and celery (but don’t overdo the celery as it contains a fair amount of sodium). Don’t worry too about not getting enough ‘nutrition’ for a one day cleanse.  It is, after all, just one day.
  3. Choose a day that you have a lot to do. Work days are ideal, as you will be busy and less tempted by weekend activities that usually involve a lot of dining out.
  4. Drink lots of water in addition to the juice. A good measurement would be half your body weight (pounds) in ounces. Often times when we think we’re hungry it’s our bodies telling us that we’re dehydrated.
  5. If you do feel faint, you can ‘cheat’ with a handful of unsalted nuts.

If I managed to get through an entire day of rest from eating, so can you! Do let me know how you get on!

15 thoughts on “Why You Should Try A Juice Cleanse

  1. I’m still thinking about the eat more calories one day/eat less the next day idea. I’ve managed to lose a few pounds this month just by being more sensible than usual and eating quite small meals at night, which isn’t my “hungry” time anyway.

    • It’s odd..I felt more hungry today after having a salad lunch than when I had nothing to eat all day yesterday! I’m considering not eating dinner and just having green juice as a more sustainable option for every day eating and then doing a complete cleanse once a month or something. Still experimenting! The key is being consistent, which I find very hard with temptation at every corner! Haha!

  2. Oh good for you!!! I’m impressed! You tried this for one day yes, not 10? I’ve been doing quite a bit of detox myself but haven’t done a juice detox for a stretch. It really does give the body a rest and cleanses it. I’ll try it next week! Sharon

    • I can’t believe I lasted more than 10 hours! Haha! And yes, I did an entire day and am considering doing 3 days next time. That will take more preparation and I would add some homemade nut milks for that. Let me know how it goes for you! 🙂

  3. Hey! I totally don’t understand people. They will tell me my green juice looks awful too but meanwhile they are sipping on BLACK fizzy soda or a BLUE slushie or a NEON ORANGE store-bought concentrate juice?!? Meanwhile GREEN is the color of life 🙂

    • It is certainly important to do your research (as I did) before embarking on any drastic changes in your diet, but as http://www.nytimes.com/2010/10/28/fashion/28Cleanse.html?pagewanted=all points out, not everyone does. I felt great after I did this and intend to do it again as it gave me the extra weight loss boost that I have been needing. Simple elimination of the usual calories I consume but would otherwise be impossible if you told me to just eat less. Haha. And whether or not it’s ‘scientifically cleansing’ it worked for me so that’s enough proof to get me to do it again. It took me an entire year to finally give it a go and I’m glad I tried it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

