Calm Down, It’s Just A Joke!

James Delingpole always talks sense.  He’s clever, witty, thoughtful and I trust his opinons. I would be honoured to befriend Mr. Delingpole.  Frankie Boyle, on the other hand, I am not so sure.  He’s funny but brutal and although I’m used to people taking the piss out of me (hubby included), I’m not sure I would ever want to be caught in his line of fire. I’d probably cry instead of laugh after a certain point.

That said, I’m not sure he was as merciless with his Twitter jokes on the Paralympics as he is with his usual jokes. But now he’s had to defend himself and his job. Sure, his jokes can be tasteless and offensive but I didn’t find anything wrong with this one:

“Wow, Austrian Paralympians seem a lot more able-bodied than most regular Scottish people”.

When I saw it I didn’t just laugh, I retweeted it! It reminded me of how lazy and complacent human beings in general can get when everything comes too easily. I am totally one of them. And as much as Olympic athletes blew me away with their talents last month, it’s Paralympians that truly inspire me to push myself a little harder.

But I digress.  As James points out, it’s all the rage to be outraged and offended by people who aren’t politically correct. We can’t say anything without the fear of being called racist, sexist, and whatever -ist you can come up with. Comedians, of all people, should be able to throw all that out the door without being attacked. Isn’t it kind of their job to make fun of people? And in this case it seems we are better off feigning offense (or keeping quiet) by his jokes or we’ll become the victims of cruel name-calling.

If Frankie’s Paralympic jokes were mean spirited like his usual material can be, I might’ve taken offense. But if we calm down and think for a minute, he’s just having a bit of a laugh. There is some truth in every joke and regardless if we agree with him or not, the man has the right to creative expression. I wouldn’t go so far as to call him a national treasure, but I do respect him for choosing subject matters that others are afraid to touch. Frankie Boyle may not be everyone’s cuppa tea, but don’t try to censor him simply because you don’t like what he says.

One thought on “Calm Down, It’s Just A Joke!

Leave a Reply

