Moomin Me Up!

I know it seems a bit pathetic but I’ve been going through Moomin withdrawal. I made a promise not to buy any new Moomin merchandise for a while (I say ‘a while’ as this leaves plenty of room for interpretation), seeing as I failed to grasp the concept of ‘austerity’ last month. But news of a recent sighting of a Moomin balloon flying over Malmö, Sweden lifted my spirits. Thanks to my daily ‘Moomin Google image search’, before I knew it I was staring at one of the most beautiful hot air balloons I’d ever seen.

I believe this was taken by someone in Sweden. It’s such an amazing photo!

Here is another beautiful photo that I found taken by a different photographer:

Of course my new found knowledge of Moomin balloons has led to my desire to book a ride of our own when we visit Finland. Needless to say, if not for Moomin I would never consider going up in a balloon. Oh, the things I do for love. A quick look at the prices from what I think is the company that flies the Moomin balloon, however, left me feeling a bit unsure if it would be a good idea. I’m certain the hubs would say no to a private ride and upon further thought, it’s not like we can photograph ourselves in the Moomin balloon. Not to mention, I’m deathly afraid of heights, and I’m not yet sure if this is a special flight or if anyone can book a ride. But never mind all that! One can always dream and it would be great to see if we could make it work. So if you’ve ever organised a Moomin hot air balloon flight please let us know if you’ve got any tips!

9 thoughts on “Moomin Me Up!

    • Thank you for stopping by! I remember seeing your blog on Naantali with all those lovely photos! I have not been there yet but plan to visit in 2014 for Tove Jansson’s 100th birthday celebrations! Do you know if there will be any special events that we should plan for?

  1. Wow you must really love Moomin if you’re willing to go up in a hot air balloon with a scare of highs 😉 But the balloon does look really cool! i would love to try it

    • Ufufu…yes, I really love Moomin! But I’m not sure my husband does, not for 998€! And I’m not sure I can justify that either…so we shall see if there is a group special for Moomin lovers. I still have to find out if it’s possible to ride the Moomin balloon or if it’s a promotion!

      • Good luck with that 😉 But wouldn’t it be easier just to stay on the ground and watch someone else fly in the Moomin balloon so that you can take pictures 😉

      • Hahaha! So true, so true! 😉 I keep thinking, what if I have to go the loo during the ride?! There are so many things that could go wrong. Perhaps better to stay on land!

  2. Fab! And I have the solution- take me with you as your official photographer! I NEED to go to Finland!!!!! X

Leave a Reply

