Farewell, Andy…

On 25 September, 2012 “Moon River” singer Andy Williams died at age 84. He passed away at his home in Branson, Missouri, a year after being diagnosed with cancer. Known for his smooth voice and charm, he was one of the classic American crooners that I grew up listening to.

“We’re after the same rainbow’s end/ Waitin’ round the bend/ My huckleberry friend/ Moon river and me”

Mummy and I would listen to “Moon River” over and over again as I day-dreamed of all the places I would travel to one day. Now as I sit here all teary-eyed, knowing that Andy is no longer with us, I am reminded of how fleeting life is. Each time a beloved artist, family member or friend leaves this world I struggle with my own fears of death. But I also become more determined to seize every opportunity I have to be in the present, to laugh and to love. May Andy Williams rest in peace and may his beautiful songs continue to live on in generations to come.

3 thoughts on “Farewell, Andy…

Leave a Reply

