Moomin Galore!

A fellow Moomin fan recently reminded me of a great site that I have been meaning to share with you: the absolutely wonderful Moomin Product Gallery! The site serves as a showcase for retailers, press and agents to see a selection of all Moomin products that are available on the Nordic market. It is also, of course, a fantastic resource for Moomin collectors!

Fazer makes the best candy ever! Love their Moomin candy products!

What would make the site even better is if it could also point visitors to online shops that carry these products (not just to the company website), with a focus on shops that ship internationally. Although it may not seem like it from my recent posts, I’ve made a Moomin Non-Purchasing Agreement (MNPA) with myself to not purchase any new Moomin merchandise for the month of October, not including pre-ordered books and goods. I keep failing each month so I hope that this month will be a successful one! I’ll admit it’s been difficult to exercise self-constraint while I seek out these lovely products for you all to buy! I spent hours adding all these lovely products to my cart and then closing the browser to ensure that I don’t click ‘checkout’.  I know, it’s sad isn’t it?

Berner Muumi Shampoo – on my wishlist!  Shh, it’s not just ANY shampoo, it’s Moomin shampoo. Yes, folks, branding matters!

Here are two Finnish shops that I found with reasonable pricing. The postage still always gets me (not sure I can justify paying more for shipping than the actual cost of the products). The first is a relatively new company still in the beta stage: fromFinland. They carry a modest  selection of Moomin candy, shampoo and toothpaste–all the essentials to every day Moomin life. The second is Suomikauppa (Finalnd Shopping) which has an extensive selection of Moomin galore! I’ve already added half of the entire selection of Moomin merchandise that they carry to my Christmas wishlist! If you come across other sites that offer better pricing for merchandise and shipping, do let us know!

16 thoughts on “Moomin Galore!

  1. Hi,
    Thank you for posting about fromFinland.fi !
    As a Finn, it is always nice to find fellow Moomin lovers:)
    fromFinland.fi ships goods that are made in Finland, all over the world. If there is a product that you would like to see in our selection, please let me know and we will do our best to add it to the shop.
    I would be happy to offer you, and your blog readers a 10% discount for purchases made on a specific week of your choice. If you are interested, please contact me for setting up the special discount code.

    Take care!
    Anu, fromFinland.fi

  2. Quite the colourful array of sugary items but why do manufacturers insist on producing such antisocial foodstuffs? Chewing gum is a blight on our pavements yet there appears to be no end to this menace offered by ‘Fazer’ As for the lolly sticks where do you think they end up? On the pavement of course, scattered there by youths and yobbos who have not the mental faculty to consider the foul mess they are making for the rest of us! Worst of all I note a number of liquorice bars hidden amongst the sweet collage. Liquorice is, as we all know, a spitting food. Quite a reasonable little hobby when the spittoon resides in your own garden but do you really envisage such restraint being used by the youngsters who wolf down Moomin goods? A simple NO, I fear, as they gob the juices of their ‘Fazer’ liquorice bars over the pavement, the general public or even your car. Disgusting.

    As for the ‘Berner’ wash and shampoo range it seems better than the ‘Fazer’ foodstuffs but one must wonder what the purpose is of this range and its pricing? We always look to buy cheap for our wash and shampoo items at home and the Old Dutch regularly acquires bathroom goods from Poundstretcher. What, may I ask, is your issue with these?

    Regards,
    Donald Muff

    • Erm…thanks for stopping by! Not sure where you live but not everywhere is filled with litter, especially not of Moomin wrappings! I highly doubt any Moomin fan would litter, either. We’re a special, loving and caring lot! 🙂 To be fair, it’s not Fazer’s fault that some ill-disciplined youths and yobbos have no regard for public spaces. Surely it’s they who are antisocial and not the lovely sweets. As for liquorice, I’m not keen on it and would only buy it for the Moomin wrapper to display at home. I assure you, Fazer candy really is lovely! 🙂

      As for the shampoo, I haven’t got it yet but would love to try it because of their lovely berry scent and another Moomin fan says it’s quality stuff–makes your hair shiny and smooth! So why not buy a good product that also has lovely branding? 🙂 If the pound shop sold Moomin merchandise, I’d be there in a heartbeat!

Leave a Reply

