The Moomins And The Great Flood

Some of you may have already heard, but the translation of Tove Jansson’s first ever Moomins book is set for release for the first time in the UK next month on 1 November, 2012. The Moomins and the Great Flood, originally written in 1945, is centered on a quest to find Moominpappa. Written during darker times, it will be interesting to see how the Moomin stories began and how they’ve evolved over time.

According to The Guardian’s interview with publisher Natania Jansz, they decided to delay the UK publication as they wanted to launch it leading up to Tove Jansson’s centenary year (2014). I’m not sure how that worked out to be a November 2012 release but fair enough! Pre-order your book on Amazon today! If you’ve somehow gotten your hands on an older copy (it seems the translation, by David McDuff, was published in Finland in 2008), no spoilers please!

8 thoughts on “The Moomins And The Great Flood

  1. I’m so happy – today I bought this book, translated in Bulgarian!:)))) Thank you SO MUCH for this post – it reminded me to search “The Moomins and the Great Flood” in the bookstores again, after my numerous, unsuccessful attempts to find it earlier this year. In spring I was so tired to wait for the book to come to our city, that I stopped checking up.
    I had a long, busy day today and although it’s very late, I can’t wait to go to bed and to open the first page… I hope you’ll do the same very soon!:))))

  2. I’m from Finland (currently living in Brussels) and only read this Moomin book recently. Of course, as most Finnish people, I’m a great Moomin fan, and plan to include some Moomin related posts on my blog too! I also tend to get stuck in the Moomin shop in Helsinki whenever I visit, wishing I could by up the whole store! I hope you make it to Finland and Moominland soon!

    • Thanks for stopping by! I look forward to reading your Moomin related and other posts! I’ve been trying not to buy any new Moomin merchandise for one whole month and it looks like I might finally make it! 9 more days to go…

  3. Pingback: Get Your Moomin On! | Catastrophic Findings

Leave a Reply

