Dikta Discovered

I can’t believe I just found out about Dikta! Some of you may know I’m a huge fan of Of Monsters and Men and Hafdís Huld and now I’m delighted to add another Icelandic band to my list of favourite bands. Dikta is an indie rock band made up of four members, Haukur Heiðar Hauksson on guitar, piano and vocals, Jón Bjarni Pétursson on guitar, Jón Þór Sigurðsson on drums and Skúli Gestsson on backing vocals and bass. They already have four albums out–Andartak (Mistak Records, 2002), Hunting for Happiness (Smekkleysa, 2005), Get It Together (2009), and Trust Me (Kölski, 2011).

I don’t know much about Dikta other than what I gathered from a quick Wikipedia search. But I do know that I love their music–‘Losing Every Day’, ‘In Spite of Me’, to name a few and especially the song ‘Goodbye’ from the album Get it Together, even though it kind of pulls me down. The first few times I heard it I sat bawling my eyes out. I wondered what had prompted all those tears and then I realised it was because the song hit a bit too close to home…

2 thoughts on “Dikta Discovered

Leave a Reply

