My Bloody Valentine: Not Everyone’s Cuppa Tea

I’m really not sure what all the fuss was about when My Bloody Valentine finally released their album m b v, 22 years after predecessor Loveless.  MBV’s music isn’t everyone’s cuppa tea and it certainly is not for me.  I think you need to be on drugs to really appreciate the racket that come out of the band. Their song, Who Sees You sounds like a broken record and makes me want to slit my wrists. It’s eerie and depressing, like many others. In Nothing Is, I wonder if anything is going to happen but nothing does. It’s like someone recorded a riff, put it on repeat and let it play out for 3 minutes. Hardly musical genius.

I tried very had to appreciate the music (can we even call it that?) that was thrust forth and devoured by so many eager fans but I simply could not wrap my head around it. Perhaps my opinion will be like a voice in the wilderness but I’m not alone in my feelings as you’ll see on the Guardian’s poll of the album. Right. So 94% of people who have listened to the new album are obviously people that like the band to start and the 6% are either unimpressed fans or people that simply loathe their music (i.e., moi). But don’t take my word for it.  Have a listen to the entire album below and let us know what you think!

Rating: 2.7/5

Leave a Reply

