Meyer Lemon Soufflé Pudding Cake

It has been a long time since I tried my luck at baking. My previous baking fiascos (see my [in]famous Moomin Pancakes that were showcased in Buzzfeed’s 50 Lessons That Moomins Can Teach You About Life and my failed lemon Moomin biscuits) left me so discouraged I couldn’t stand the thought of more failure in the kitchen.

That said, lately I have been craving lemony desserts and when I found this beautiful Lemon-Soufflé Pudding Cake recipe in Bon Appétit I decided I had to give it a go. I actually had the real deal from the precious luncheonette, Maurice, in PDX. So I was excited to see if I could replicate the exact textures and flavours of the restaurant version. Although the recipe doesn’t indicate the specific use of Meyer lemons, I used them because I love the sweet fragrance of Meyers.

Something usually goes wrong when I try to follow a recipe. And with all the steps involved in this one (although quite easy to follow), there were plenty of instances things could have gone wrong. That said, everything, and I mean everything turned out perfectly! I’m super chuffed and quite pleased with myself. The result was a light and fluffy cake on top and the bottom layer a sweet and tangy lemon pudding.

Lucky for hubs’ new workmates,  instead of eating all 8 servings I packed several samplings of the pud for him to share. Have you got a favourite lemon dessert recipe? If you do, please share it in the comments section below!

Leave a Reply

