10 Great Places To Eat Around London (v2.0)

Dining out in London is always a treat. And when you’re no longer confined to a student budget, food adventures can get pretty exciting. I still stand by all of my previous recs–you can’t really go wrong with Busaba Eathai or Belgo. Or even a cheeky Nando’s (don’t judge, just enjoy).

Here are some new favourites which I hope you’ll enjoy!

1. Shoryu Ramen (Liverpool Street)

The ramen craze took a while to hit London but it has since brought some very slurpilicous noodles to the city. Gone are most of the ramen shops from my Uni days, and such as well, as the new generation of ramen shops are often on par with those in Japan (and can satisfy the ramen snob in me). We’ll definitely be returning to Shoryu Ramen (perfect post-cricket meal). The tonkotsu broth is rich and creamy and you can really taste the freshness in their house-made gyoza.

2. Poppies Fish & Chips (Spitalfields)

Poppies is something of an institution in London and is a great spot for traditional no-frills fish and chips and delicious jellied eels. Some places have too much batter for my liking but I thought the batter to fish ratio here was perfect. I can’t really describe jellied eels in an appetising way–cool, fishy, slightly salty and gelatinous goodness? You either love them or you hate them and I think most people are turned off by them so they’re actually quite hard to find in London.

3. Pollen Street Social (Mayfair)

Dining at Pollen Street Social is a special affair. They offer a lovely (yet light) course menu, which is accompanied by an adorable arrangement of canapés and a three-course dessert. The food here is not only pretty to look at, but also a delight to eat. I must admit it’s not terribly filling but the portions aren’t so ickle that you’ll leave hangry.

 

4. Masala Zone (Earls Court)

Veeraswamy on a budget–what’s not to like? There are several Masala Zones around London offering fresh and amazing flavours but for a fraction of the price. You can’t go wrong with thalis. Great value=happy hubs.

img_4151

I can’t believe I forgot to mention Veeraswamy before, but their food is superb (especially their fish curries) so you must eat there, too!

5. Fancy a Snog? (Covent Garden)

In addition to having a cheeky name, the frozen yoghurt here is on point and I love all the fresh fruit toppings.

img_1984

6. Orjowan (Earls Court)

I cannot recommend this Lebanese restaurant highly enough. Everything is fresh and flavourful, the service is friendly, the price is right, and I thought I just about died and went to heaven when I tasted their chicken wings dipped (by the second bite, smothered would be more accurate) in light and fluffy garlic sauce. It’s insanely delicious–a total party for your tastebuds!

7. Hotel Chocolat (all over London)

Quality British chocolates at a reasonable price.

img_1989

8. Belgo Centraal (Covent Garden)

Sometimes all you need is a simple meal of moules-frites and a chilled glass of Früli.

img_4146-1

9. Polo Bar (Liverpool Street)

I’m only adding this place because I know it will make the G happy. They’re open 24 hours, offer a respectable menu of British comfort food, which I’d gladly eat when it’s not 35ºC inside the cafe.img_2045

10. Restaurant Gordon Ramsay (Chelsea)

Where do I begin? It was a dream come true to dine here, but we were sadly unimpressed with the Menu Prestige (which put hubs in a sour mood). All of the food was beautifully plated, but I think they forgot that it also has to taste nice (rather, being a 3-Michelin starred restaurant the food should actually knock your socks off). While there were some tasty dishes, most of the courses were either under-seasoned or the flavour combinations were just weird. Having said all that, it’s still a special experience, especially if you’re new to fine dining. But if you’ve dined at other Michelin starred restaurants before I would proceed with caution.

One thought on “10 Great Places To Eat Around London (v2.0)

Leave a Reply

