Sakura Surprise

Ever since I was a wee girl I have been captivated by the fragile beauty of sakura (cherry blossoms), and I wished I could somehow preserve the soft pink petals forever. Living in Japan for many years, I learned to appreciate the small celebrations that took place with every change in the seasons. I always looked forward to spring as I could spend hours, day or night, under the cherry blossom trees.

img_5020img_5015img_5024

Outside of Japan, London has Kew Gardens, Washington DC has Tidal Basin, and New York has the Brooklyn Botanic Garden. It was nice to discover that you can also get your cherry blossom fix in Portland (Oregon) along Waterfront Park. The blossoms had pretty much reached their peak when I stumbled upon them and were gone after a few days, so I’m grateful that I got a chance to enjoy them on one special spring day.

Do you have a favourite cherry blossom viewing spot outside of Japan?  How about in Japan?

img_5021

2 thoughts on “Sakura Surprise

  1. I love cherry blossoms but I have never been anywhere to actually view them in abundance. I have to keep a lookout on where to see these in Helsinki or maybe if I have time, I can go to the Kew Gardens if they are still blooming at the end of April..

    • Oh, that would be great if they’re still there at the end of April! I highly recommend making a special trip to Japan during the cherry blossom season. There are even cherry blossom ‘blooming’ reports letting people know when the flowers will be in full bloom in each part of the country. Truly a special experience — I miss it so much!

Leave a Reply

